New Blog (English Version) - Reisverslag uit Channel Islands, Verenigde Staten van Dania Menzo - WaarBenJij.nu New Blog (English Version) - Reisverslag uit Channel Islands, Verenigde Staten van Dania Menzo - WaarBenJij.nu

New Blog (English Version)

Door: Dania

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Dania

22 Juli 2015 | Verenigde Staten, Channel Islands

Hello everyone,

I am writing a blog about my time here in Guernsey, and I decided to write in English as well.
I am already here for a while, the time goes really fast.
A while ago I was only complaining about everything here, but now it actually starts to feel like home. I feel sad when I think about my day of departure…

I met so many people here, different ages, different types of people… I hang out with people which I never expected to hang out with in the beginning. In the beginning I said about so many people that they were not my type, and now I actually like everyone. It’s a proof that judgements are never correct…
I am actually impressed by everyone here, everyone has their own goals in life, everyone has different interests and especially: everyone has their own story… it’s really inspiring to see.

First I didn’t really feel home, I just felt like a little kid walking around here, the ‘student’. Now I see age doesn’t matter at all. I am having fun with everyone, I get along with everyone.. I live in a staff accommodation. I share a room with Daniela, a girl from Latvia. I really like it, it is nice to always have someone around me who I can always chat with. It is always cosy here, you are never really alone. I also go out a lot, I am always doing something. I really improved, in the beginning I was just hanging in my room and skyping or watching tv-series.

I learned a lot here (and am still learning), everyone who works has their responsibilities, no matter how old you are. I feel like I am getting more responsible, I actually like it to live on my own. You can do whatever you want, whenever you want.. When I am bored in the evening, I walk 2 minutes and I’m at the port with the amazing view over the sea (never get bored of that). Also all the restaurants, bars and shops are even less than a 5 minute walk. It is actually great to live so close to everything. In my village in Holland is literally nothing to see, except houses..

I will have to get used to being home again in 2 months.. I built up a life here and I have to say goodbye to it again, that really hurts. I start to really care about people here. I really like my colleagues and I am having much fun with them.

There are also things about Guernsey I will absolutely not miss… For example the unhealthy oily food, the terrible mushrooms which are almost in every meal, the people who drink liters alcohol on a day, some weird English habits and especially the weather! How could I even complain about the weather in Holland, it’s 10 times worse here. Thank god it’s slowly getting better.

I don’t really know what to write anymore, it is kind of late and my inspiration is starting to fade away because I am getting sleepy. I might write again before I leave, at least I hope to but I will probably forget it. Many thanks for reading and I wish y’all a good night of sleep and beautiful dreams

By the way, here it says I am in the United States, just to clarify: I am in Guernsey, it belongs to ENGLAND :)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, Channel Islands

Dania

Actief sinds 25 Mei 2015
Verslag gelezen: 182
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2513

Voorgaande reizen:

24 April 2015 - 10 November 2015

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: